Acrimony's Photo


Acrimony Biography

Formed in Wales in 1991, Acrimony included vocalist Dorian Walters, guitarists Stuart O'Hara and Lee Davies, ba**ist Paul 'Mead' Bidmead, and drummer Darren Ivey. Exponents of typical mid-'90s stoner rock, they combined Black Sabbath's heavy metal riffery, Hawkwind's space rock excursions, and Blue Cheer's fuzzed-out psychedelic feedback with extreme doses of volume, and were particularly reminiscent of desert metal gods Kyuss. After circulating a few demo tapes, the band signed with independent Godhead Records for their debut album, 1994's Hymns to the Stone, and its follow-up E.P., 1995's The Acid Elephant. Taking it to the next level, they then joined leading doom label Peaceville, and proceeded to record their minor masterpiece, 1996's critically acclaimed Tumuli Shroomaroom, which duly earned a perfect five "K's" from British metal bible Kerrrang! magazine. Album sales were disappointing, however, and Acrimony soon became dismayed by the label's lack of support and decided to disband at the end of 1997. Rumors occasionally had them reuniting towards the end of the '90s, but nothing ever came of them. ~ Ed Rivadavia, All Music Guide

Related Links

No links are attached to this artist.